Urban Decay Beauty Balm- Review, First Impressions

By  |  14 Comments

Urban Decay’s newest edition to the Naked Skin Line is a Beauty Balm! This balm promises to perfect skin with optical blurring pigments, protect with SPF and anti-aging properties, treat skin by helping improve elasticity, as well as prime and moisturize skin. Basically, it’s your entire skincare routine wrapped up into one. 

Personally, I have never been one to jump on the BB Bandwagon. I’ve tried a few out (some American, some Asian) and was never a huge fan of them. This particular one seems to be less BB cream, and more of a perfecting primer. It looks tinted, and applies darker than most BB creams I’ve seen (see the picture of it on my arm, you can juuuust slightly tell it’s there) but when I applied it to my face it came out virtually invisible, when most BB’s are supposed to have some coverage. 

I also noticed that this balm is kinda tacky. I am not a fan in the least of having my face feel tacky, i need a smooooooth, nice feeling going on. This wasn’t the worst by any means as far as tackiness goes in products i’ve used, but compared to my normal pre-foundation routine of Benefit Porefessional and Eve Pearl Mattifying gel, it was a noticeable difference (and I am sure the mattifying gel is why) Once I applied my foundation and setting powder, though, the tacky factor wasn’t an issue.

Overall, I think this is a nice option for a pre-foundation product, and can cut out the need to use a bunch of different products to get the same results. If you are looking for something with lightweight coverage, though, maybe try a tinted moisturizer. 

 

Udbbcream 2Udbbcream 1Udbbcream 3Udbbcream 4Udbbcream

 

Available for $34 from Sephora and Urban Decay.

 

Disclaimer: Some products shown in this post may have been provided by the brand of their PR representative for potential review or use. For more information, please read the Disclosure Policy.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

14 Comments

  1. jordyn

    January 9, 2013 at 12:55 am

    for the price I think I will pass on this doesn’t seem that amazing..kinda dissapointed :/

  2. Kelianna

    January 9, 2013 at 5:31 am

    Seems really disappointing compared to the naked foundation.

    • xsparkage

      January 10, 2013 at 6:52 pm

      it isnt meant to be a foundation, so it really isnt fair to compare it to that as they are very different products :)

  3. Lizard

    January 10, 2013 at 5:18 am

    It looks like it would be worth a try

  4. Kayla

    January 10, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    Nicely done! I’m neither like or dislike beauty balms… I just don’t see a need for them in my makeup regime. I like the Naked Skin foundation, or just Laura Mercier TM with concealer and bit of powder. That’s what works for me!

  5. Theblushbrush

    January 10, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    I’m never impressed with BB Creams. I think I’ll pass on this one as well. Thanks for the straight forward review :)

  6. deeshore

    January 10, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    I don’t normally like BB creams they don’t really go well when you have combination oily skin. It doesn’t seemed all that amazing and you can’t tell the difference between your normal regiment once you have your foundation on. I’ll pass.

  7. Ashelei

    January 11, 2013 at 1:17 am

    Definitely will pass…. looks like the same exact skin on both pictures, for the money I will not be purchasing, Thank you for the review!

  8. Alicia

    January 13, 2013 at 4:04 am

    I have been using as a pre foundation(primer) under my naked skin and it has been amazing. Smoothes, fills, hydrates, and evens out some pigmentation. I wouldn’t trade any other primer for it

  9. Natasha

    January 17, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    i’m really loving bb creams at the moment, but it looks far too dark and orange for me :(

    http://cloudsandcuticleoil.blogspot.co.uk/

    xx

  10. MareeDeMedici

    January 22, 2013 at 6:25 am

    This product really does make an amazing difference, a very light natural look. I’ve got mine in the post and am looking forward to trying it. I hope that it provides me with a nice option of wearing on the weekends when I want minimal makeup but relatively clear looking skin.

  11. Beth

    January 28, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    I love your videos Leesha.

    Urban Decay sent me a free sample of this balm with
    my recent order. I don’t think I would have tried it otherwise. I’m not a fan
    of most BB creams and tinted moisturizers. However, I really like this balm.

    I prefer light coverage. I’m 32, and I’m mostly wrinkle free, but some medium-high coverage products emphasize problem areas. I feel like this product makes my skin look better, but still natural. I apply Benefit Porefessional on my T-zone, then this beauty balm, blush, and then Tarte’s Smooth Operator finishing powder. This combination works for me.

  12. Samantha

    January 29, 2013 at 5:11 am

    Would you be willing to try and review Jane Iredale’s BB cream??? =) It’s amazing. SPF 25, grapefruit extract for luminosity, firms and reduces fines lines, great for all skin types…similar to most BB creams however I find it gives great coverage. Would love to hear your take on the product though =)

  13. Mim

    September 27, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    I tried this cream and have to say I’m really disappointed in it. Pity, cos UD is awesome for everything else!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>