MAC Flighty Big Bounce Eyeshadows Review, Photos, Swatches

By  |  31 Comments

The MAC Flighty Collection includes some new eyeshadows called Big Bounce Shadows. They are a whipped, almost custard-like consistency and are intended to be used as a soft wash of color over the lid.

bigbounce

bigbounceFree As Air

bigbounceCount Your Assets

bigbounceReward Yourself

bigbounceExtra Charged

bigbounceMy Next Indulgement

 

bigbounceFree As Air, Count Your Assets, Reward Yourself, Extra Charged, My Next Indulgence

 

Overall, I was really bummed with these. Swatched, they look great, but on the eyes they do not go on nearly as nice. I understand that they are meant to be a sheer wash of color, but no matter how I applied these (with/without primer, with a stiff brush, with a fluffy brush, with my finger) I could  not get them to apply evenly (there were lots of uneven patches that I could only get to look semi-decent by stippling the brush over my lids) and they would crease almost instantly, even if I looked down and didn’t fully open my eyes for the full 5 minutes it takes for these to dry.

 

bigbounce

bigbounce

I have heard that these would work well as a powder eyeshadow base, and I can definitely see that.. but the point of them is not to be an eyeshadow base, its to be an eyeshadow in itself so I can’t say that they are worth it specifically to be used under eyeshadow.

Bottom line, if you are looking for a quick eye product that gives you a wash of color, look elsewhere. Personally I think that the Urban Decay Cream Shadows are the same concept as these, but work 100% better and have a much better packaging concept.

 

These will be Available May 5th From Mac Cosmetics for $16.50 each.

 

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

31 Comments

  1. Vijaya

    April 28, 2011 at 3:42 am

    Yikes. Sucks that these are so disappointing. xP

  2. ShannonLeta

    April 28, 2011 at 3:46 am

    What a bummer! :/

  3. Carolyn

    April 28, 2011 at 3:58 am

    Wow, I never would have guessed that these would have such a bad result on the eye after seeing those beautiful swatches!!

    Thanks for being honest, cuz I probably would have bought a couple :P

  4. Caci

    April 28, 2011 at 3:59 am

    Well, that sucks! The swatches are absolutely gorgeous, as are the colors in the pots themselves. Damn, MAC, step it up already! :-(

  5. Melly

    April 28, 2011 at 4:01 am

    It’d be so much better if they looked like the swatches! that would be amazing!

  6. whittysx

    April 28, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Ouch. I watched the box video, and I was super skeptical about how these would look. Didn’t think they’d look that bad though.

    However, they do look awfully pretty on your hand. Thanks for the review and everything else you do. Helps me so much! <3

  7. Evee

    April 28, 2011 at 4:05 am

    Hey, maybe try using them as lip colors instead? I’m not sure if the result would be the same, but it’s worth a try!

  8. Sandee

    April 28, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Thanks for letting us know leesha before we go out and buy them all! lol! :)

  9. Emmy

    April 28, 2011 at 4:27 am

    wow, I was really excited when I saw the high def photos and swatches, then when I saw the eye shots…man… =(

  10. Rebecca

    April 28, 2011 at 4:32 am

    Wow! I can’t believe they’re actually selling something with results that bad.. That looks as bad as the dollar store cream makeup I buy for my sister. Such a disappointment :\

  11. xtochie

    April 28, 2011 at 4:33 am

    maybe lathering it on.. like fronting on cake?? ur right about the consitancy… its no bueno… thanks for the heads up :)

    • Leesha

      April 28, 2011 at 4:47 am

      no, you litterally have to use basically none, if you put on a lot it would crease within the first blink

  12. Graciana

    April 28, 2011 at 4:45 am

    Love, love, love!!! I want it all!!!! Muito lindassss quero todas!! hello from Brasil

  13. Marcy

    April 28, 2011 at 5:08 am

    sigh… If only MAC had released these same [gorgeous] colors as PAINT POTS instead… I’m sure they would’ve been incredibly successful!

  14. polarbelle

    April 28, 2011 at 5:19 am

    why the heck would they release such a lousy product? surely they’ve tested these? I don’t get it.

  15. Jessica

    April 28, 2011 at 5:36 am

    I hate to say this, but it’s refreshing to see a bad review once in a while. Keeps things real.

  16. Janalyn

    April 28, 2011 at 9:05 am

    awww… so junk… they looked so pretty swatched =(

  17. Misato-san

    April 28, 2011 at 10:13 am

    sigh. colours are so beautiful but I haven’t read a SINGLE decent review about them. I’ll skip them ;_;

  18. Nikki

    April 28, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    I like how you do totally honest reviews :)

    The good, the bad and the ‘What is this doing on the shelves?” XD

    xx

  19. Amby

    April 28, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    Wow, your right i do not like the ways those look. I would expect more from mac.

  20. Rachael

    April 28, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    I have not really liked anything that MAC has put out recently. Nothing seems very pigmented. This is just another example. Thanks for the review. I will be sure to skip this. I would have probably bought them b/c I always swatch on my arm/hand. Im glad that you showed what it looks like on your lid. Not worth a cent. BOO!!!

  21. Mandy

    April 28, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Dissapointing!!!

  22. Sarah

    April 29, 2011 at 1:42 am

    OH man those are super crummy! Nicely done, MAC. FAIL.

  23. Chiara

    April 29, 2011 at 9:28 am

    So disoppointing!!! They looked wonderful on your hand but not on your eyes :( that’s a pity! I loved this colors!!!!

  24. Elissa

    April 30, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    blech! I was excited for these too.
    I actually prefer the LaSplash Hydro Shadow Liquid Shadow. They seem to be the same consistency (I just picked it up on a whim at Ulta) but I LOVE the LaSplash one :)

  25. Laila

    May 1, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Hi Leesha, I work at MAC in Australia and we were told they work beautifully layered over an eyeshadow. I tried the colour “Trophy” over lots of different colours and it turns bright colours to soft metallic pastels very pretty and no creasing!! Give it a try :)

  26. Pingback: The Yeti » Blog Archive » Beauty Missteps

  27. Monique

    August 29, 2011 at 3:30 am

    Hi. I’m a new subscriber. Thanks for the honest review. Was curious about this product.

  28. Courtney

    October 2, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    I was so excited when I saw that swatch of the Blue, but then I saw it on the lid. I am so happy you reviewed this!!! If not, I might have wasted my own money on it.

  29. Pingback: Soms…. « Beautytreat – Make up en visagie tips en tutorial

  30. Pingback: MAC – Big Bounce Shadow review — A lost girl (loves make up!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>