Lush Fresh Face Mask: Cupcake Review

By  |  21 Comments

Last week I went to my Local Lush and sort of binged on their Fresh Face Masks.. I bought 5! :X This isn’t a practice I would normally do, nor do I recommend to the average customer, as their Fresh Face Masks (or FFM as I will call them for the rest of this review) are just that- FRESH, they need to be refrigerated and are only good for about 2 weeks after purchasing them (this is why you won’t find them on their website, only in real stores!) The reason I bought 5 is because I wanted to review them, and to be honest I wanted an excuse to try a good portion of them out, as I usually just stick to my favorites (Love Lettuce and Cupcake!)

 

Do you ever just feel like smearing brownie batter all over your face!??!

Me either. BUT, if I did, I probably would go straight to Lush and buy a Cupcake FFM. Looks like brownie batter, smells like brownie batter, though I doubt it tastes like brownie better, I can say that its MUCH better for your skin, especially if you have acne prone and oily skin!

lushffmcupcake

 

lushffmcupcake

lushffmcupcake

 

Like I’ve mentioned before, I love how refreshingly cool these are to put on straight out of the fridge! I applied Cupcake FFM to a freshly cleaned face and used a decent amount of the mask (not gonna lie- when I first put it on, I put it right around my mouth and lower cheeks so I looked like I had a burley man-beard. It totally cracked me up). This mask has a gritty feel to it, which I assume is the Rhassoul mud. Once you’ve got it on, it’s left to dry for 5-10 mins.

lushffmcupcake

Since the point of this mask is to suck up oil and help with acne, it is a bit tightening, but nothing too bad like other masks you might find at the drugstore with the same purpose. After 10 minutes, I removed the mask, which was fairly easy- I had more trouble getting Love Lettuce off. This mask isn’t as exfoliating as other Lush FFM I’ve reviewed, but it is just slightly from the grit in it. Once I removed the mask and dried my face, my face felt super smooth and clean, but not at all stripped, which is really rare when it comes to products meant to help with acne and oily skin.

I think this mask would be amazing for teenage skin, or anyone with oily skin. If you have breakouts in certain areas (like your chin) or you’re only oily in your T-zone, it might be nice to combine this mask with another and only apply it in those specific areas that you need some help, so you don’t overdo it on your skin. I think this also would be great for other areas of your body that might break out, like the back- but you might need a friend to help you apply/remove it ;)

This is available from your local Lush for $5.95!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

21 Comments

  1. Candace

    July 13, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    Dang! I was just at a Lush in STL and didn’t get anything. I was too overwhelmed.

  2. Megan

    July 13, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    is one of those tub things for only one mask or is it for more?

    • Leesha

      July 13, 2011 at 7:32 pm

      You can easily get 3-4 masks out of a tub!

      • Megan

        July 15, 2011 at 12:35 am

        ok thank you :)

  3. Mazy

    July 13, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    I break out on my inner thighs (I know its super strange) Do you think this would work on that? My biggest issue is all acne stuff clearly says “For Face Only” So, I afraid to use them on other parts of my body.

    • Kaelee

      July 13, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      Hi Mazy! I am a store manager of Lush in Australia, and there would be absolutely no problem trying Cupcake on any part of your body that is breaking out :) The beauty of our products is that you can use them with a lot of versatility, and there are minimal synthetics in them so they are great for your whole body.
      <3

    • Brandi

      July 16, 2011 at 3:41 am

      I would make sure it’s a breakout first. From that area, you may be suffering from a heat rash which could look like a breakout.

      I know I get heat rash on my bum in the summer because I sit outside a lot with tight jeans on.

      • Sara

        August 14, 2011 at 5:24 am

        yeah, i get a heat rash on the inside of my knees frequently in the summer. It might be that. or ingrown hairs.

  4. thenailaholic

    July 13, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    That looks really good lol I’m surprised people don’t get into it and eat it since it’s kept in the fridge! lol

    • joyontheleft

      July 14, 2011 at 2:27 am

      You should always cleanse before using any masks or treatments to make sure all the good stuff soaks in :)

  5. C

    July 13, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    I have kind of a stupid question. I’ve noticed several face products that say to apply them to a clean face. What exactly do they mean by a clean face? Just no makeup on? Or do you wash your face with a cleanser first?

    Thank you!

    • Brandi

      July 16, 2011 at 3:43 am

      I would think it would be a cleanser first, because although you have no makeup on, you may have a buildup of sebum (an oily substance secreted by the sebaceous glands that helps prevent hair and skin from drying out) and adding a mask on top of that wouldn’t be utilized fully.

  6. megg112326

    July 14, 2011 at 1:09 am

    So… i’ve been wanting to buy from lush but don’t know any good products…. ffm sound right up my alley. i think you should do a top 10 lush product video. you are amazing thank you so much

  7. Jessie

    July 14, 2011 at 7:13 am

    I’m sad that I have NO Lush anywhere near me. I wish I knew someone or someone close to one could pick some of these up for me. The closest Lush is almost 100 miles away, not really gas friendly. I want to try these so so bad.

  8. Tinkerbeth

    July 14, 2011 at 8:28 am

    This one actually hurts on me. The Lady in store when she tried it out on told me it might be the peppermint oil in it (if I remember correctly). Did it sting on you too?

    • Maureen

      July 22, 2011 at 3:05 am

      It stung my face a bit too, nothing I couldn’t bear though. Mine is just incredibly strong smelling, I love the effects, but the smell may drive me away :/

  9. LieH

    July 14, 2011 at 8:51 am

    When I saw this post, I was like, I didn’t know there’s a Lush Store in Austin….Then I looked it up on their website, and they just opened up a new one. I was like yay! Thank you Leesha!

  10. Emily

    July 14, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    I got this mask and it made me breakout alot more. (I am 17 and have acne)

    • Kat

      July 15, 2011 at 9:30 pm

      Emily: it will break you out more due to the mud bringing everything to the surface. :) Use to work there and I had the same problem. :)

  11. Annmarie

    July 19, 2011 at 12:37 am

    Just bought one of these today and I’m excited to try it. I probably would have never gone into Lush had I not read your blog.

  12. Sara

    August 14, 2011 at 5:27 am

    trying it now. The closest one is 45 minutes away and i’ve been begging my boyfriend since this article came out to come with me. so i finally convinced him the other day. Very excited. Although a little nervous from the above poster saying that they broke out more. That’s the LAST thing I need. At the age of almost 27 I still get bad breakouts. It’s awful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>