Em Cosmetics Party Life Palette Review

By  |  32 Comments

Oooh, the requests I’ve had to review this baby! This is one of the Life Palettes from Michelle Phan’s new makeup line, Em Cosmetics. Out of the whole line, I really wanted to try out one of the Life Palettes, as it seemed like it was sort of the center of the line. This palette is huge- it contains 4 “looks”, or areas of the palette that are meant to go together and include a variety of six eyeshadows, a blush, and two lip glosses each.  Also, each color is removable, so you can mix up the palette setup, or you can use the travel palette the kit comes with (it looks just like one of the sections, but empty, so it would fit six shadows, two lip colors and a blush).

Check out photos and my thoughts below!

 

EmLifePalette 1EmLifePalette 2EmLifePalette 3EmLifePalette 4EmLifePalette 5

Note- The products are labeled from right to left on the back of the palette, so that is how I swatched and labeled them. 

EmLifePalette 6

Look 1: Midnight Dance

EmLifePalette 10Top: Midnight Dance, Evening Sky, Lavender Stars; Bottom: Pink Sparks, Lilacs in Love, Twinkle & GlimmerEmLifePalette 11 Blush: Pink Soiree EmLifePalette 12Lips: Fuchsia Affair, Lavendar Lust

EmLifePalette 7Look 2: Party In PinkEmLifePalette 13Top: Black Sky, Dance Floor, Blue Pumps; Bottom: Cake & Confetti, Blue Cosmo, Spwarkle

EmLifePalette 14Blush: Party in PinkEmLifePalette 15Lips: Chic, Wine a Lot!

EmLifePalette 8Look 3: Birthday Surprise

EmLifePalette 7Top: Mink Coat, Rich Rust, Bronze Cuff; Bottom: Copper Groove, Gold Lame, Poppin BottlesEmLifePalette 6Cheek: Sexy NudeEmLifePalette 5Lips: Carmel, Just Fab

EmLifePalette 9Look 4: Out on the Town

EmLifePalette 3Top: Black Moonlight, Late Night, Midnight Swim; Bottom: Confetti, Hazy, Girl Time

EmLifePalette 2Blush: Sassy ChicEmLifePalette 1Lips: Peach Fizz, On the Prowl


If I’m being totally honest, I don’t love the packaging on this. The actual palette is nice, with the clear lid, but the format of the shades, and including everything with the blush and the lipgloss, just makes me think of those “pretend” makeup kits for little kids. It also makes me think that with use, this palette could get messy. I generally don’t like palettes that include open lip products like this, so maybe that’s why I think that way.

The colors themselves are hit and miss. Some shades have great payoff and blend nicely, while others are a bit deceiving and look nice in the pan but aren’t very pigmented when swatched. The “Birthday Surprise” look palette is probably my favorite here, as all the shadows swatched really pigmented and metallic and true to what they looked like in the pan. I do like that the blushes aren’t too pigmented, though, as I tend to have a hard time keeping my blush in check when the product is overly pigmented! I do like most of the lip product colors, however like I mentioned before I don’t like that they are in this palette. I really, really hate open packaging for lip products.. it’s too easy for them to get yucky and dirty :/

There are 36 products here, and so the price comes out to just over $2 per shade. That isn’t a bad price, but at $75 for this palette I feel like unless you like at least the majority of the shades, it is a high price to pay. 

 

Available for $75 from Em Cosmetics

 

Disclaimer: Some products shown in this post may have been provided by the brand of their PR representative for potential review or use. For more information, please read the Disclosure Policy.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

32 Comments

  1. misaacmom

    October 16, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    I agree about not liking the lipstick in with the eyeshadow pans- the eyeshadow dust gets all over the lipstick cake. I do love these colors but would have liked to see some matte shades.

    • lisaneff

      October 18, 2013 at 6:06 am

      I agree with your overall impression. The most pigmented shades, to me, were the “autumn” colors. I thought it looked cheap, too; generally, you get what you pay for, and I’d rather but several (OK, many) samples for a reputable indie company than pay $75.0 for dots of “c**p.” I’m surprised that Michele Phan put her stamp of approval on this palette.

  2. laddibugg

    October 16, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    …when I saw the picture I was wondering if it was really tiny……….

  3. Justine

    October 16, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    I agree with what you said about the packaging. It makes it look like cheap makeup when it’s actually suppose to be a “luxury” brand like she said so herself. Do not like her makeup line, it could have been better made.

  4. Annie

    October 16, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    The lipsticks from what I hear, is essentially the same formula for the regular L’Oreal lipsticks as well.

  5. Becky C.

    October 16, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    I’m surprised you didn’t get the beach palette. It is full of “Leesha” colors. Also, from all the reviews I’ve seen on these palettes, it is the most pigmented one out of the bunch. It’s the one I ordered!

  6. GlamourNazi

    October 16, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    My first impression was how cheap the palette looked. It definitely resembles those kiddy makeup ones! Then I saw your first set of swatches and that was enough for me – the pigmentation is obviously just not there. I didn’t even need to read your review at the end (although obviously I did anyway), the quality is obviously just lacking and the price is insane. It is really sad to see someone cash in on their YouTube ‘celebrity’ just for the sake of it, particularly when you see someone like Marlena from MakeUp Geek putting so much effort in to produce a good quality line at an affordable price. It makes me sad that so many fans will cash in on this.

    For the record I have not tried either line and am actually not necessarily a fan of either of them. This is just my opinion on the products.

  7. Sandra Swedishbeautyjunkie

    October 16, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    I completely agree – it looks cheap. I also thought of those pretend kiddie makeup palettes when I first saw it! Personally, I think the price is just too high. I’d prefer it if she’d put the content of this palette into 4 different smaller palettes instead of 1 big one. Also, the pigmentation of some of those shadows look surprisingly bad :/ Disapponting to say the least. I really thought Michelle Phan would come out with something far more impressive than this. Although I do love the Birthday Surprise colors! Great review, as always. X

  8. Samantha

    October 16, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    It just looks like play makeup to me. Something you’d give to a little girl who likes to play with makeup. Definitely not worth the high price point.

  9. Monica Olivera

    October 16, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    I’m so happy someone finally gave this palette an honest review. The packaging is SO clunky and big…unnecessarily so. The eyeshadows aren’t that pigmented and the lip products are more of a gloss and since they’re opened, I feel that some of the eyeshadow or blush particulate would get in there. Yuck! I think these should come in mini-palettes and the “life palette” offer should be for the four mini palettes packaged separately. They’d be nice to have on the go. But $75 for this? No way, honey.

  10. McKinzie Augustus

    October 16, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    I was thinking the same about the packaging. It looks just like the play makeup I had as a kid. I’m not impressed by this in the least.

  11. Phyrra

    October 16, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    I strongly dislike lip products mixed in with powder eyeshadows and blushes. That’s a big turn off to me for a palette. $2 per shade is nice, if you like all the colors. Thanks for the great swatches and review :)

  12. Ruhjeenuh

    October 16, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Thanks for the honest review. Really appreciate it =]

  13. Chrissy

    October 16, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    I was thinking the same thing. The packaging looks like the pretend makeup I just bought my 5 year old sister. I also really don’t like the idea of the lips and shadows being in the same open section. I think it is ridiculously overpriced. Nice idea, poorly executed.

    -Chrissy of Crashbeauty.com

  14. Mari

    October 16, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    I abhor the packaging and the website is a nightmare to navigate sometimes. I don’t care for the eyeshadows but I’m really eyeing the rose gold liner thing and the glosses. I won’t buy them though, not for a while lol I’m pretty content with what I have now. Probably when I run out.

  15. sisi

    October 16, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    Im going to skip this! The packaging looks like itll get messy!
    -Sisi
    http://www.modernbeautygirl.blogspot.com

  16. Marilyn

    October 17, 2013 at 12:27 am

    That’s exactly what I think of this palette! At first I was a bit surprised that Michelle who is so stylish and artisitic went for a palette which look like “doll makeup palette” or kids one… this don’t look at all pro. I miss my words as I am not a English mothertongue… but you explained very well what was my thinking and I hate open lipstick as well.

  17. Ági Takács

    October 17, 2013 at 3:56 am

    that’s what i think about these palettes too, they are like fake makeup kits for little girls. I also hate the idea of open lip products,especially when powder products are in the palette next to them. These colors are mostly not well pigmented
    To tell the truth.. i’m not surprised on this, Michelle is not at all professional when it comes to do makeup. She’s cute and lovely, her videos are very nicely edited, but the point (at leat for me it’s the point), the makeup part is mostly lame

  18. Karen

    October 17, 2013 at 5:05 am

    I don’t like this packaging at all. Maybe if they changed the layout so the lip products are separate. The samples I got are like you said hit or miss so the $75 is also a little much unless you like all the shades.I did like the lipsticks and the Rose Gold liner which are nice.

  19. erin

    October 17, 2013 at 6:31 am

    why is there no cream/white type of shade? This looks cheap. Also there is not a wide enough range in the color variety.

  20. Kelsey

    October 17, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    How on earth could anyone justify spending $75 on something that looks like it belongs in a dollar store? I hadn’t heard of the line so I thought it was something out of Target she endorsed… The packaging’s a mess, the products don’t wow me, and the lip products open to shadows seals this as an absolute no go.

    She’s lovely, but this is an absolute makeup fail in my opinion.

  21. Zadidoll

    October 17, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    “There are 36 products here, and so the price comes out to just over $2 per shade.” — but keep in mind that the pans are smaller than the standard 1″ / 26 mm pans. The smaller of the pans are the same as BH Cosmetics/Coastal Scents 88/120 palettes while the large shadow pans are just a little larger. The blushes are actually the same size Saucebox Cosmetics shadows which holds 5 grams of product (no idea how much you actually get from EM). $2 per shade is pretty generous since the pan sizes are so different.

  22. Miranda Mendoza

    October 18, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    For the price point I just don’t think these are worth it. Totally agree with you about the open lip pans. EVERY palette I have that combines powder pans with lip pans, the lip pans end up disgustingly dingy.

    -Miranda from SlashedBeauty.com

  23. Karla Lisseth

    October 18, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    I really like your honest opinion. I was thinking on buying it but it really looks like a little girl’s make up case.

  24. Julie

    October 28, 2013 at 9:35 am

    I thought from the very beginning that the clear plastic packaging looked really tacky because there’s no overall theme for the colours in the palette and thus looks very busy. To be honest I expected MP to produce something that looked a lot more high-end, with quality products at an affordable price, or at the very least cheaper options, considering her humble beginnings.

    • Loralie

      November 1, 2013 at 5:24 am

      Agreed. I think Leesha is too nice a blogger to say it’s a tacky mess, so I’ll say it for you. It’s a hot tacky mess. :)

  25. Kat

    November 19, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    That’s exactly what I thought: why is she reviewing play makeup? I love palettes with lots of looks, but not like this and not with open gloss.

  26. Katie DaCosta

    November 20, 2013 at 4:06 am

    At least the applicator it comes with isn’t sponge-tip. :)

  27. gregory95

    November 21, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    find out how to earn 35 dollars a day at your own home! enter the url surveymoneymaker dot net

  28. Maddie

    November 25, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    I too thought the birthday surprise colors look amazing. I completely agree with the thing about it looking like play makeup. I might just not be reading well, but did you swatch these over any kind of primer? Thanks!

  29. judy

    November 28, 2013 at 2:23 am

    I think I’m going to stick with my naked palettes

  30. Donah @ SweetJellyBean

    December 5, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    Birthday Surprise is my fave then Out On The Town – that Just Fab swatch looks fabulous. ^^

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>